The Warren J. and Sylvia J. Samuels Young Scholars Program

The Samuels Young Scholars Program is dedicated to growing the field of the History of Economic Thought. The Samuels Young Scholars Program began in 2000 as an initiative from Dr. Sandra Peart. It is designed to support and highlight research by PhD candidates and early career scholars who have obtained their PhDs within the last three years. The program received generous financial support from Warren and Sylvia Samuels.

Each year, fifteen young scholars will receive a $600 travel stipend, free registration to the conference, tickets to the conference reception, to the Neil Niman Young Scholars Luncheon, and a ticket to the awards banquet. Also included is a year’s membership of the society and subscription to the society’s Journal for the History of Economic Thought.

Young Scholars whose papers have been selected for presentation in a History of Economics Society session at the annual ASSA Conference in January can also apply for travel support funding. Once your paper has been accepted by the Vice President, send your request, including paper title, session title and organizer, and vita, to

Decisions will be made by the Young Scholars Committee of Guido Erreygers,(chair), Renee Prendergast, and Camila Orozco Espinel.

Any individual eligible to apply as a Young Scholar is able to submit their conference paper to the Young Scholars Committee for the award of Best Conference Paper by a Young Scholar.

Details on how to apply will be provided to conference attendees. 

Young Scholars 2021

Max Ehrenfreund Harvard University
Isabella M Weber University of Massachusetts Amherst
Victor Cruz-e-Silva Federal University of Uberlândia
Juliette Blayac Université Lyon 2
Alexandra Quack University of Zurich
Pierre Januard PHARE – Université Paris 1 Panthéon-Sorbonne
Gianluca Damiani University of Florence-University of Turin
Elizaveta Burina University of Paris 1 Panthéon-Sorbonne
Rafaël Lazega University of Lausanne
Lúcia Regina Centurião PhD student at the University of São Paulo and Visiting Fellow at the HOPE Center
Ibanca Anand Johns Hopkins University
Theresa Steffestun Walras-Pareto Center, Lausanne & Cusanus University for Social Transformation, Koblenz
Zoé Evrard Max Planck Sciences Po Center on Coping with Instability in Market Societies (MaxPo), Sciences Po, Paris
Andrés M. Guiot-Isaac University of Oxford