HES Executive Meeting – January 2024

Action Points

1) Secretary

Outreach initiatives have produced positive though limited results so far. This should be part of a broad, ongoing effort: reaching out to lapsed members, reinforcing our sense of community, establishing stronger collaborative links with other societies, and sending HES missions out in the field.

2) President

Ross Emmett has asked to defer his presidential address to Richmond (2025). Maria Pia Paganelli will deliver her presidential address in Santiago this year.

3) Treasurer

The Executive Committee decided to discontinue the (costly) existing external audit system, replacing it with a newly created Financial Review Committee. The job description for this committee will be as follows:

Reviewing the financial statements of the History of Economics Society on an annual basis and reporting to the Executive Committee prior to the June Meeting. This will be a two-person committee with overlapping four-year terms, renewable once. When the committee is first constituted, one of the members will be appointed for a three-year term and the other for a four-year term.

Manuela Mosca and Neil Niman will be approached to serve on this new committee.

4) JHET Search

The Executive Committee approved the recommendation received from the JHET Search Committee. Catherine Herfeld, Harro Maas, Erwin Dekker, Alexandre Mendes Cunha, and Christina Laskaradis will be appointed to take over as the new editorial team. The transition is scheduled to start in June 2024.

5) Distinguished Fellow

The Executive Committee approved the recommendation received from the Distinguished Fellows Committee, to nominate Sandra Peart as the 2024 HES Distinguished Fellow.

6) Elections

The recommendation received from the Nominating Committee was approved. We will invite Ariane Dupont-Kiefer and Maria Bach to stand for election to one open position as at-large member of the Executive Committee.

7) Early-Career Scholars

Recommendations received from the Early-Career Scholars Committee were approved. Soroush Marouzi will be offered the one remaining grant we have budgeted for this year.

8) Growth and Outreach Fund

Following a recommendation received from the new Growth and Outreach Committee, the Executive Committee decided to institute a quarterly review schedule for proposals received under the new program. This is meant to facilitate internal organizational of the workflow for receiving and assessing applications. The internal deadlines will be defined after consultation with the Growth and Outreach Committee.

9) Code of Conduct

Following recommendations received from the Respectful Behavior Committee, the Executive Committee has appointed Jimena Hurtado and Maxime Desmarais-Tremblay to work on revisions to the existing Code of Conduct.

10) Conference Planning

The Conference Planning Committee is working on a strategic report based on a recent survey of the history of economics community. The survey returned some volunteers who seem interested in organizing future HES conferences. The possibility of joint conferences with other societies will likewise be explored.

11) Digital Information Manager

The Executive Committee decided to establish a fixed term of five years, renewable once, for the office of Digital Information Manager. Valentina Erasmo's first five-year term will be counted from the date of this decision.