2020 Distinguished Fellow Award

The Distinguished Fellow committee of Jeff Biddle, Mauro Boianovsky and Evelyn L Forget (chair) recommend that the 2020 Distinguished Fellow Award be given to Bruce Caldwell.

We are impressed by his contributions not only to the literature of our field, significant as they are, but also to building the institutions that support the next generation of HES scholars.

Mary Morgan writes: "Caldwell is now widely acknowledged internationally as the expert on the history and philosophy of Austrian economics.... While some scholars would have focused their gaze narrowly..., Caldwell's research gaze ... has enlightened and delighted his readers by explorations that both reveal its breadth and show how important it is for the continuing work of professional economists."

She continues: "While Caldwell's scholarly contributions alone merit recognition as a DF..., equally important are his efforts to support and grow the History of Economics field." These claims are supported by the experiences of Leon Montes, Sandra Peart and Scott Scheall, among many others, all of whom benefited personally from Bruce Caldwell's institution building.