Nominations for the JOSEPH DORFMAN BEST DISSERTATION PRIZE 2020 is now open

Categories: News


The History of Economics Society is now accepting nominations for the Joseph Dorfman Best Dissertation Prize.

In 1990, the Society established an annual award for the best dissertation in the history of economic thought and methodology in memory of Joseph Dorfman. Historian of economics and Distinguished Fellow of the History of Economics Society, Joseph Dorfman’s family endowed a permanent fund for this prize. A list of past recipients can be found at <>.

This year, the winner will receive a stipend of $500 plus travel expenses up to $1,000 to attend the 47th annual conference of the History of Economics Society (June 2020 in Utrecht, The Netherlands). All dissertations in the history of economic thought and economic methodology, written in English and completed during the last two years (September 2017 to August 2019), are eligible. The selection committee will consider all nominated dissertations, with self-nominations permitted.


The selection committee is formed this year by:

José Edwards (Chair), Universidad Adolfo Ibáñez

François Allisson, Université de Lausanne

Paul Erickson, Wesleyan University


To nominate a dissertation, please send an email notification to the Chair ( by 31 December 2019, together with a .pdf copy of the dissertation.