Call for Nominations for the Joseph Dorfman Best Dissertation Award

Categories: News

The History of Economics Society is accepting nominations for its annual JOSEPH DORFMAN BEST DISSERTATION AWARD for dissertations in the history of economic thought and methodology.

In memory of Joseph Dorfman, historian of economic thought and Distinguished Fellow of the History of Economics Society, his family endowed a permanent fund for the award. The winner will receive a stipend of $500 plus travel expenses up to $500 to attend the presentation at the Society’s annual conference.

All dissertations in the history of economic thought and economic methodology that are written in English and completed during the two previous academic years (September 2015 to August 2017) are eligible. The selection committee considers only nominated dissertations. Self-nominations are permitted.

A list of past recipients can be found here.

The selection committee is formed this year by: Hans-Michael Trautwein (Chair), Carl von Ossietzky Universität Oldenburg; Maxime Desmarais-Tremblay, Goldsmiths, University of London; José Edwards, Universidad Adolfo Ibáñez, Viña del Mar.

To nominate a dissertation for the award, please send an email notification to the Chair by 8 January 2018, together with a pdf copy of the dissertation.

Hans-Michael Trautwein (