The Journal of the History of Economic Thought (JHET) is the journal of the History of Economics Society. JHET is a quarterly, refereed journal that welcomes papers reflecting the full spectrum of scholarly analysis within the history of economic thought and history of economic methodology. 

The mission of the journal is to further the objectives of the History of Economics Society. These are to promote interest in and inquiry into the history of economics and related parts of intellectual history, facilitate communication and discourse among scholars working in the field of the history of economics, and disseminate knowledge about the history of economics.

JHET is a scholarly publication of international distinction. In addition to publishing widely read and cited peer-reviewed articles, it features a regular book review section including reviews by leading specialists.

HES members receive a one- (or three-) year subscription to JHET with their annual (or three-year) membership, which includes electronic access to the journal and all the issues of the Society’s preceding publication, the History of Economics Society Bulletin (1979-1989). To get online access to the journal, submit a paper, or find information about institutional or non-member subscriptions, please see JHET‘s web page at Cambridge University Press. Online access is also available through a link in the membership area of the HES’s website (login to your account).



Pedro G. Duarte, University of São Paulo (Brazil)
Jimena Hurtado, Universidad de los Andes (Colombia)
jhet.editor /AT/ historyofeconomics /DOT/ org


Book Review Editor:

Maria Pia Paganelli, Trinity University /AT/ historyofeconomics /DOT/ org


Assistant to the Editor:

Matheus Assaf, University of São Paulo
Department of Economics, FEA-USP
Av. Prof. Luciano Gualberto, 908
Butantã – São Paulo, SP / Brazil
jhet.assistant /AT/ historyofeconomics /DOT/ org


Past Editors:

Stephen Meardon, 2013-2018
Marcel Boumans and Evelyn Forget, 2008-2013
Steven G. Medema, 1999-2008
Donald A. Walker, 1990-1998
William O. Thweatt, 1984-1989
Karen I. Vaughn, 1978-1983


Editorial Board:

Michele Alacevich
Nahid Aslanbegui
Roger Backhouse
Jeff Biddle
Mauro Boianovsky
Marcel Boumans
Robert W. Dimand
Pedro Garcia Duarte
Agnès Festré
Evelyn Forget
Harald Hagemann
D. Wade Hands
Steven Horwitz
Marianne Johnson
Thomas C. Leonard
Harro Maas
Steve Medema
Perry Mehrling
Paul Oslington
Malcolm Rutherford
Amos Witztum

Loyola University Maryland
Monmouth University
University of Birmingham
Michigan State University
Universidade de Brasília
Utrecht University
Brock University
Universidade de São Paulo
Université de Picardie Jules Verne
University of Manitoba
Universität Hohenheim
University of Puget Sound
St. Lawrence University
University of Wisconsin Oshkosh
Princeton University
Université de Lausanne
University of Colorado Denver
Barnard College, Columbia University
Alphacrucis College Sydney
and Australian Catholic University
University of Victoria
London School of Economics and Political Science