Call for Nominations for the Craufurd Goodwin Award for Best Article in the History of Economics

Categories: News

The HES is now accepting nominations for “The Craufurd Goodwin Award” for Best Article in the History of Economics. In addition to the honor, the winner will receive a $500 award plus travel expenses of up to $500 to attend the Society’s annual conference and be presented the award in person.

Craufurd Goodwin, who passed away recently, was a founding member, past President and Distinguished Fellow of the History of Economics Society. His long (more than 40 years) and outstanding editorship of History of Political Economy helped shape the field of the history of economics.

Any article in the history of economics published in English during 2017 is eligible. It is recognized however, that despite official publication dates, many publications are shipped after year end. In such cases, relevant articles that are in ‘proof’ form, with accompanying evidence of the journal and year of publication, may be accepted at the discretion of the Chair of the committee.

The Committee considers all nominated articles as well as all articles published in the Society’s journal, Journal of the History of Economic Thought. Nomination of an article by its author is welcome.

The judging committee comprises Rebeca Gomez Betancourt (Université Lumière Lyon 2), Harro Maas (University of Lausanne), and Loïc Charles (Université Paris 8).

Nominations (brief reasons), including a complete citation of the article and/or a pdf of the article, should be sent to the Chair of the committee, Rebeca Gomez Betancourt, no later than January 31, 2018 (and earlier if possible).