Journal of the History of Economic Thought

The mission of JHET is to further the objectives of the History of Economics Society. These are to promote interest in and inquiry into the history of economics and related parts of intellectual history, facilitate communication and discourse among scholars working in the field of the history of economics, and disseminate knowledge about the history of economics. The web site of the Journal can be found here.

JHET therefore encourages and makes available research in the fields of history of economic thought and the history of economic methodology. The work of many distinguished authors has been published in its pages. It is recognised as being a first class international scholarly publication. All articles are fully peer reviewed. The journal also features a regular book review section which includes reviews by leading specialists.

Dr. Stephen Meardon
Department of Economics
Bowdoin College
Brunswick, Maine 04011-8497
Tel. 207-725-3907
Fax 207-725-3691


Book Review Editor:
Maria Pia Paganelli

Editorial Board:

  • Professor Roger Backhouse
    University of Birmingham, UK
  • Professor Bradley W. Bateman
    Denison University, USA
  • Professor Mauro Boianovksy
    Universidade de Brasilia, Brazil
  • Professor Robert Dimand
    Brock University, Canada
  • Professor Sheila Dow
    University of Stirling, UK
  • Professor Philippe Fontaine
    Ecole normale supérieure de Cachan et Institut universitaire de France
  • Professor Harald Hagemann
    Universität Hohenheim, Germany
  • Professor D. Wade Hands
    University of Puget Sound, USA
  • Professor Susan Howson
    University of Toronto, Canada
  • Professor Bruna Ingrao
    Universitá di Roma "La Sapienza," Italy
  • Professor Philippe Le Gall
    Université d'Angers, France
  • Professor Robert Leonard
    Université du Québec à Montréal, Canada
  • Professor Harro Maas
    University of Amsterdam, The Netherlands
  • Professor Steven G Medema
    University of Colorado at Denver, USA
  • Professor Perry Mehrling
    Barnard College, Columbia University, USA
  • Professor Mary Morgan
    London School of Economics, UK
  • Professor Sandra Peart
    University of Richmond, USA
  • Professor Malcolm Rutherford
    University of Victoria, Canada
  • Professor Masazumi Wakatabe
    Waseda University, Japan
  • Professor Michael White
    Monash University, Australia
  • Professor Amos Witzum
    London Metropolitan University, UK